Burdens Release Your Blessings

As I was leaving the hospital two nights ago, after making a few hospital visits, I was walking out the exit & down the sidewalk towards my car when among everybody around, God laid my eyes on a woman sitting on a park bench along the sidewalk.  As I spotted her, He began to burden my spirit for her & whatever it was she may be going through.  He challenged me to approach her, ask her if there was something I could pray for her about & make sure she knew the Lord, but I walked past her. 

It’s amazing when you do that, how loud God’s voice becomes in your spirit.  I got halfway to my car past her & I could literally move no further.  I walked back to near where she was, acted like I was looking for somebody and playing with my phone and then turned around started towards my car again, only to come the very same place I had been brick-walled before and it happened to me again. I felt like my feet were shackled to the cement and I could move no further.  I finally got my junk together and returned to the woman and proceeded to fulfill the burden that God laid on my heart.  As I approached her and began to speak with her, one thing began another into the process of what God was trying to work. 

She seemed shocked at first and then I could literally see her wall crumble as she began to tell me that her daughter had been in a bad car accident and had gone through another surgery just hours before and lay in a hospital bed, at 28 years old, with her life at the mercy of God.  She was obviously scared, worried, sad and I’m sure had “why” written all over her mind, but as I began to talk with her and she talked with me, I could see that she was able to escape all that was in her mind and know that somebody cared enough to be obedient to God, so that God could comfort her in the place she was hurting, in the middle of her hurt, at the place of her hurt and awaken her to the fact that He would wipe away her hurt. 

Before I ever spoke with her, person after person walked by, and she sat alone and hurting.  But more than person after person walking by, what really was passing at each person’s past, was opportunity.  Not just opportunity for this lady’s life to be changed or comforted, but opportunity for each of their lives to be changed too.  What I had the chance to operate in, and something that I advocate very much, was marketplace ministry.  Ministry in it’s most pure form, the way it was intended and the way Christ did it, but the one way that we rarely take the opportunity to function in. 

I know God leading me to this woman made a difference to her and I know that God will heal her daughter, because I trust God, I trust my prayers & I trust that He led me to her, but more than that it opened a door for God to work in my life.  Obedience is like the trigger to God’s gun.  When I made the decision to obey, it opened up a realm for God to move in my life.  See God was already at work in this lady’s life, He was just waiting on the obedience from someone that would be the funnel for getting the information to her.  Had He not already been at work in her situation, He would have never burdened my spirit to approach her. 

So the outcome of my burden was not her blessing, her’s was already accomplished, but it was a catalyst for my own.  God knew I had needs in my own life, but He was waiting for me to get my mind off of my needs & ministering to someone else’s.  When I did, it moved me out of His way in my own life. 

We often fret over burdens.  Being burdened in our perspective is like being weighted down, shackled (as I felt when I walked past her), but in the Kingdom, burdens make room for your blessings.  The moment I obeyed, the burden was lifted, because the result was placed back on God and it kickstarted my blessings. 

God opened my eyes to this principle on Monday night and gave me a little more Kingdom education.  My challenge to you is don’t view burdens as frustrations or God putting more on you, it’s really God looking to bless you.  Answer the call quickly and you’ll find that the burden is lighter and your blessings will be heavier!

Be blessed!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

